Mauritius Island

    Mauritius is a small beautiful white sandy beach island in the Indian Ocean, located around 900 km east of Madagascar. Well known for its wedding destinations, panoramic views, sandy beaches, warm climate and Dodo. Mauritius was discovered by the arabs, then by the portugese, and was first inhabited by the dutch in 1638. It was named after the dutch prince stay "Maurice Van Nassau". Its capital is Port Louis.


    The main language spoken in Mauritius is Creole, French, and English is the official language. Visitors from foreign countries can get an appointed guide which can guide them in their own language around the island.

    "The Climate"

    Mauritius has only 2 seasons: Winter and Summer.

    A dry winter season between April to October. Temperature around 15ºC to 25ºC, depending on the area. Coolest months are July and August.

    A warm humid summer season between November to April. Temperature varies between 25ºC to 35ºC. Warmest months are January and February.


    The currency used in Mauritius is Mauritian Rupee. Travelers or visitors can use USD, EURO, and BRITISH POUND which is also accepted in most stores and shopping areas.